Lessons Along the Way

The World In Between

Unhappy Feet.jpg Not my happy day

The doctor suggested I take a statin. Hiking 85 miles through the Wicklow Mountains seemed a rational alternative.

It wasn’t an ostrich response—not exactly. I just felt lifestyle should lead medication. I was less fit than I should be; this wasn’t rocket science.

I amped up my walking, doubled down on my diet, and last week, walked 90 miles in seven days on the Wicklow Way into Dublin. I made it!

We had moved by bus from Dublin to Bunclody, a town near the southern terminus of the trail, in order to hike from south to north. The bus route paralleled the Wicklow mountains and gave me the first glimpse into just how far and hilly this walk would be.

Yikes!

The night before we set out, I lay awake. Had I signed up for too much? Was I fit enough? What would I do…

View original post 965 more words

Leave a Reply

